Spotlight on Nomgcobo Matyila

“There is no power for change greater than a community discovering what it cares about.”

Margaret J Wheatley

It is one thing to see potential and quite another to possess the love required in bringing it out. Nelson Mandela Bay resident, Nomgcobo Matyila, fondly referred to as mama Caroline, is a dedicated counselor, teacher and dance facilitator transforming youth in her area one routine at a time.

Q – Tell us about your community and what your programs are

A Walmer location is a township in Port Elizabeth, South Africa. As a community, we encounter several challenges that stem from under-development. Our youth can be discouraged because of what they face on a daily basis. I took it upon myself to host children of school going age in clubs focused on aftercare, home work and dance so they have better recreational options.

Q Which need do your programs meet?

A – My vision for the homework and dance club was to create a safe, conducive space that I could impart life lessons, build fellowship, provide accountability and offer creative outlets to children in my area. My home is the main base of operation. The club works with 60 children (35 girls and 25 boys).

Some of the girls from the homework and dance club

Q – What makes a good role model?

A – Someone who helps their community progress and is concerned with mentoring young children in what is right or wrong so that they can have a bright future.

On the set of an international production

Q – How do you handle adversity and doubt?

A – I focus on what I see, tap into my skills and keep myself positive. Even though it can be hard sometimes, I tell myself its worth pushing.

Q – If you could give your younger self advice, what would it be?

A – To never give up, no matter what. There will be challenges in life but change will not come if you throw in the towel.

Q – Where do you hope to see yourself and your programs in 5 years time?

A – We would like to have all we need which includes our own place for practices, uniforms, tutors, transportation and resources. Those points would be a great contribution towards our youth not taking drugs, abusing alcohol and being promiscuous because they have a structure that guides their development. I desire to fulfill what God wants me to do in my community by investing in our precious members.

Published by philemonpie

I am a wife, blogger, writer and creative who tried to have it all figured out. Then I realized the fun is in learning

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started